1 year, 11 months, 15 days and 20 hours

14 Jul

On July 30, 2010 at about 6:00 in the evening I began to write.  It was a Friday evening and I felt like this might finally be it for me.  A few hours later I walked out with six pages.  Today, July 14 at about 2:09 pm in the middle of page 320 I wrote the final words: The End.  I then proceeded to burst into tears and I called my sister.  I kept saying it over and over in my head, “I wrote a book.”  I WROTE a book!”  I FREAKING WROTE AN ACTUAL BOOK!!!!!”

So because I know that you all have tons of questions, I interviewed myself and posted it here:

Can I read your book?

Nope.  Well, let me amend that; yes, but only after it’s published.

Seriously?

Yeah, that’s how it works

What if I give you skittles?

What am I, 8 years old?  No.

Well, can you tell me what the book is about?

That I can.  It is about a 16 year old girl who leaves her family in Pennsylvania and moves to Houston to live with her grandparents so that she will have a better education in preparation for going to Texas A&M.  Hijinks ensue including her grandmother’s requirement that she debut at the annual Country Club Debutante Ball.

Okay, moving on.  What will you do next?

Make dessert for my friends because they drove all the way to HEB with me twice since I forgot the cream cheese and the cool whip the first time.

Obviously I should have clarified; what will you do next with the book?

Oh, yeah that’s more on topic.  My next step is to find and agent to shop it around.  Publishers won’t really look at your stuff if you aren’t represented.

Is that hard?

Probably.

What will you do with all your spare time?

Get started on the second book in the series and work on the 11 Tools of Doom.

Do I even want to know what these 11 Tools are? Are they gardening tools?

No. and No.  They are way less helpful than gardening tools.

Is it hard to write a book?

Kind of.  It obviously takes a while.  But it’s easier if you already know where the story is going to end and how it’s going to get there.

Do you already know what’s going to happen in the second book?

Yes.  And the third.  Then this series is done and it’s on to something else.

Will you sell the movie rights?

Yes, but only if I can have creative control.  And only if I can have a part in the movie.  And only if Elle Fanning can play a major role.  Oh and Kiernan Shipka.  She has to be in it too!

Do you think you’re hot stuff now?

Yes.  I definitely think that.

One Response to “1 year, 11 months, 15 days and 20 hours”

  1. Tamara July 16, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    So proud of you!! The dessert was really good, too. I think your interview is really random, and now I must google “11 tools of doom”.

Leave a Reply

