Top 10 Tuesday…. Yes, I know what day it ACTUALLY is. Whatevs :)

27 Jun

I just didn’t have anything last evening and I never want to write just for the sake of keeping a schedule. So, today I have been thinking a lot about school and the way things just didn’t work out for me to move up to high school.  So, I am staying put for another year.  I know a lot of my co-workers are glad for this… 🙂

Anyway, I decided that I’m done wallowing in the whole “no one will hire me” quagmire and I choose to progressively think about things to be thankful for.  So, thus the post entitled:

Top 10 Reasons I am thankful to be at Northbrook Middle School

10. I have an incredibly easy drive to and from school.  I very rarely get caught in traffic and I have great morning radio shows to listen to.

9. Compared to other middle school buildings (some anyway) ours is very nice.  And, it will be even better once the renovations are complete (which, PLEASE LORD, let that complete date be BEFORE we have to go back to school so that we don’t have to start in the vacant lot in the middle of August!!!)

8. Mrs. Minga and her talented moms make breakfast tacos for us every Tuesday morning!!  YUM!!

7. Monday jeans passes.  I LOVE wearing jeans on Mondays!!

6. Our kids tend to be really well-behaved on field trips.

5. They are FINALLY putting in a Starbucks VERRRRRRRY close by (like, less than a mile from the school)!!  Yay for possible mid-day runs when you are just having “that kind of a day”!!

4. My principal is really good about letting me take time off for major events like a death in the family or a nephew being born, which will really come in handy next January…. 🙂

3. Coaching.  I have always loved sports, but I didn’t play volleyball or basketball when I was in school, so I didn’t think that they would want me to coach.  I was wrong.  YAY!!  I LOOOOOVE coaching and I love the people I get to coach with!

2. I teach exactly what I want to teach right now.  I teach 8th grade US History.  It is precisely the grade and topic that I want to be teaching.*

1. I have AMAZING co-workers!!!  Seriously.  I can’t even tell you how I would have gotten through my dad’s hospitalization and subsequent death without my peeps from NMS.  In various ways they supported me; letters, cards, gift cards, notes from the kids, checking in on me constantly on fb, coming to the viewing and/or the funeral, bringing food to my mom’s house.  They were amazing.  I really do think that when I do move on, I won’t ever find people like this.  We are family and we are tight.  I am so thankful for them!

 

In the words of The Rolling Stones, “You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you just might find you get what you need”.

 

*Okay, technically what I want to be teaching is 11th grade US History, but for middle school, this is exactly what I want.

3 Responses to “Top 10 Tuesday…. Yes, I know what day it ACTUALLY is. Whatevs :)”

  1. Lindsey June 27, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    #1 makes Northbrook a fantastic place. We love you!

  2. Jessica Vaughn June 27, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    No mention of missing me!? Lol…I can’t wait to see some vball games next year! Let’s meet for Starbucks again soon.

    • elizabelle01 June 27, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

      Um…. “I love the people I coach with”. That’s YOU!! And yes, Starbucks one evening next week??

Leave a Reply

