Top Ten Tuesday

20 Jun

I’ve been thinking about this post all day today.  This is a topic I have been meaning to hit on for a while.  So here we go.  Summer can be the very best time to catch up on reading.  I LOVE young adult fiction.  Seriously.  LOVE IT!!  So here are 10 of my very favorite young adult books.

10. ANYTHING by Andrew Clements.  He is legitimately one of the very best kids’ authors ever.  I absolutely love his stuff!

imgres.jpgimgres.jpg imgres.jpgimgres.jpg

These are some of my favorite Clements books.  The Last Holiday Concert was the basis of out fifth grade play back in 2006.  We called it “The Last Elementary Concert”.  It was pretty awesome!

9. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly.  This is the story of a 17 year old girl in Brooklyn who goes to Paris for Christmas and through various events becomes very familiar with the story of a young girl during the French Revolution.  I basically devoured this book.

imgres.jpg

8. 10 things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski.  This is a cautionary tale of what happens when you let a 16 year old girl live with her 17 year old best friend (whose mom tours with a theater production and thus is never home).  A highlight includes buying a hot tub to keep in the backyard.  

imgres.jpg

7. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson.  A girl receives a mysterious package from her aunt who died about 6 month earlier.  She embarks on an elaborately planned trip full of adventure and self discovery.  The sequel is called The Last Little Blue Envelope and there is a similarly written book called Girl at Sea.

imgres.jpg  imgres.jpg  imgres.jpg

6. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares. Eventually this series grew to be 5 books long.  The first, however is my favorite and the only one that I have read over and over again.  

imgres.jpg

5. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  Do I even have to explain this one?  

imgres.jpg

4. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher.  A girl commits suicide and leaves behind cassette tapes that explain she did this.  A very powerful story of how “innocent” teasing and a lack of someone to talk to often lead to deadly consequences.  

imgres.jpg

3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  This has been a favorite of mine ever since I first read it in 9th grade.  Atticus Finch and Boo Radley were characters that I had nothing in common with, but totally understood.  An American classic if there ever was one.

imgres.jpg

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I know this is all the rage right now, but I was firmly on board about 2 years ago when almost no one had heard of these books.  My dad even liked them.  He read the first one and when I asked him what he thought his response was “Do you have the next one?”  So creatively written…

imgres.jpg

1. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.  I will forever be in the debt of Mr Funck, my 7th grade English teacher.  He introduced me to this book and was the first person to teach me how to read books objectively and in comparison to other books.  He also brought out the writer in me.  This is absolutely one of the very best books I have ever read in my life.  

imgres.jpg

Please note that these books are 10 OF my favorites.  I could have gone on and on and on about all the books I love.  Let me know if you want more recommendations!!

Leave a Reply

