Three Things Thursday!!

15 Jun

This week I have been teaching Texas Camp.  

“What on earth is that?”  You just asked your computer.

Texas Camp is my invention. Basically, about a year ago some mom friends of mine who homeschool asked me to consider teaching a Texas History “class” for their kids.  I, loving adventure of all kinds, gave them an enthusiastic “YES!!”  So this week I have had the privilege of teaching and mentoring 12 kids ages 6-(almost)13.  Here are three weeks I have learned this week.

1. I am definitely teaching the right age group on a regular basis!!  Middle School (and older) kids I can teach with my eyes shut.  Younger kids?  Yeah, not my forte.  But I LOOOOOVE them and I love getting to know them.  I just have no desire to ever teach kids that age daily or weekly 🙂

2. Texas History, for me, was 5 years of getting paid to talk about how awesome Texas is.  This camp is like taking  my very most favorite things and getting to teach them for 3 hours a day for 5 days.  And then I get to go swimming.   YAY!!

3. I have known for months (MONTHS!!) that I needed an assistant of some sort, but nothing felt right.  At Baccalaureate on the Sunday night before Memorial Day, while watching her speak I decided that if Morgan Conder wasn’t busy the week of June 11-15, she would be PERFECT!!  Lucky me, she was 7 different ways of gung-ho and thus, I got the BEST assistant I could ever have asked for.  Double YAY!!!

This week has been great.  I am so glad I did this.  However, after being in Washington, DC last week and doing Texas Camp this week, I am ready for next week when my responsibilities equal a big, fat nothing!!  Call me for a movie or for coffee or for lunch if you are of the inclination!

Leave a Reply

