A Club You Don’t Want to Belong To :(

20 May

Friday at school I found out that the father of one of my students passed away earlier this week.  I am going to call her Layla.  I also taught her brother Eric a few years ago.  When I had Eric in class the dad got really sick.  He recovered and relapsed a couple of times over the past 4 years.  This week his body had had enough and he slipped away.

When I first heard, I almost cried- right there in the hallway between third and fourth periods.  It wasn’t that I knew the family so well or anything, my heart just broke for these children whose father will never see them grow into adulthood.  He won’t be there when the kids graduate high school or college or when they get married.  I mean, it really broke my heart.  

I know that devastation.  The difference is that I was a grown adult.  Yes, 35 is still fairly young to lose a parent, but  it’s twice as long as Eric had and about 20 years longer than Layla had.  Shortly after my dad died I was having coffee with my friend Kayla who, at the time was 19.  She was just 4 when she lost her mom.  Her brothers were 9 and 12.  For me, it really put things in perspective.  I just can’t imagine losing a parent that young.  I have so much respect for people who weather that particular kind of storm at such an early age.  I actually have so many friends who lost a parent at a very early age.  I was SO blessed to have my dad with me for so long.  I will always cherish the milestones that he was there with me for.  Sure, there are a lot of things that I wish I could share with him now, I miss him every single day.  But I am so grateful for the days, weeks, months and years that I did have.  

I’m praying for Layla and Eric as well as their mom tonight.  I hope you’ll join me in that.  

Leave a Reply

