Three Things Thursday!

26 Apr

First of all, thank you to all my friends who commented on yesterday’s post.  I definitely appreciated the way that you all had a slightly different view on what I was saying.

Today, however is my 2nd favorite day of the (blog) week.  I came up with Three Things Thursdays because it was alliterative and I already had a day for top 10’s.  Honestly it really makes me think about how to narrow down a topic to just three things.

Today is… Three Things for the next Three Days

1. Friday– tomorrow is the 8th grade US History STAAR test.  This is what I have been teaching toward all year long.  I think my kids are ready.  I know that they are aware of the need for taking testing more seriously than they take their everyday classes.  When I ask the kids if they think they are ready, I get a variety of responses.  “no, I am totally going to fail!”  “Well, are you going to study tonight?”  “Nah, I’m going to McDonalds with my dad”.  Oh, okay.  Sure.  Whatevs.  In my  9 (NINE!!!) years of teaching this is the first “high stakes” test subject I have ever taught.  I’m definitely nervous!!  At the same time, I KNOW I have taught this information.  I also know that most of them will probably do better than they think they will 😉

2. Saturday– Less than 48 hours from right now I will be at the Katy ISD job fair talking myself up to at least 10 prinicipals from the district.  I am excited.  I am nervous.  I am hopeful.  I am excited that my friend Kristin will be there at the Seven Lake Junior High table and I am excited that my friend Cindy is going to the job fair also, so I will have people to talk to!

3. Sunday– In June our Children’s Director at church, Christy Conder is moving to Nashville.  That is in Tennessee.  Tennessee is not in any way close to Houston.  Therefore she will not be our director anymore 😦  Sadness in our hearts!!  So we are having a going away/birthday party in her honor at church on Sunday.  It promises to be a VERY fun afternoon!

So that’s my life in the next 72 hours.  I know, you’re jealous aren’t you?  Well, in the wise words of Cher Horowitz, “not everyone can be as fabulous as me!”

Laters!!

3 Responses to “Three Things Thursday!”

  1. Cindy April 26, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I love reading your blogs. Thank you for sharing them with us! I am looking forward to the job fair and the possibilities as well. I’m so glad I’ll have you there with me in the afternoon!! And, so, so, true. I could not everyone can be as fabulous as you!!! 🙂

  2. Lindsey April 26, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    I’m considering stealing your “Three Things Thursday” idea and doing a “Two Things Tuesday” thing because 1. it’ll force me to write and 2. I’m lazy and 2 is less than 3. With your permission, of course. 😀

  3. Lisa April 26, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    If any of those Katy ISD people need a glowing reference from a very happy parent of a very happy child that you taught … you know where to find me.

Leave a Reply

