What to wear to a Roller Derby bout….

22 Apr

Guess what I did this evening??  

A few years ago, Drew Barrymore wrote, produced, directed, starred in and provided craft services for a movie called Whip It! all about the interesting world of roller derby in Austin.  Besides Drew it also starred Ellen Page (from Juno and Inception) and Kristen Wiig among others.  I had never thought too much about roller derby before that.  No, scratch that I had never thought once about roller derby before that, but I was totally enthralled and I might totally own it now 😉  I had no idea that there was an actual league in Houston, but sure enough, the Houston Roller Derby exists.  It is made up of about 5 teams who play one another as well as teams from other cities around Texas.  There is also an All-Star team that competes against teams from other places (like Chicago).  So last week while I was being supportive of a friend at speed dating we found out that there was going to be a roller derby bout tonight.  

Now, as some of you know, I participated in a car wash earlier today.  I was worn out, dear readers!  Not going to lie.  Then I started thinking about getting dressed.  And I knew that jeans were pretty much a must.  But WHAT ON EARTH does one wear to a roller derby competition (I later learned the word ’bout’)????  So I did what any self-respecting girl would do.  I thought about WWSJD….. I know you have the “What would…..do”  but you are dying to know what (or in this case, who) SJ is.  To explain that, I have to start another story.  This is one of those “peel back the onion” situations.  This story has many colorful layers.  

Fifteen years ago I moved to Houston a wide-eyed innocent who was not intuitive about what to wear in various situations.  I was also not great about knowing what make-up worked for me.  I remember when I was about 15 I went though a stage where I had red hair and wore BRIGHT PINK LIPSTICK.  It was sooooo not a cute look for me!!! Anyway, my dear friend whose name is now Stephanie Jones (but was not back in the day) took me under her stylish wing and taught me the ways of Sephora, Bobbi Brown and the godmother of all make-up M.A.C.  I LOOOOOOVE MAC makeup!!!  And Steph taught me how to choose, buy and wear this makeup.  She also taught me how to dress cool.  It took a long time to take hold, but in a situation where I am unsure of the dress code, I try to think about situations where the dress code would be similar.  

So back to tonight.  I decided that someone who goes to Roller Derby is probably pretty laid back.  I pictured leather jackets, biker books, eyeliner.  Except for the leather jacket, I could make that work.  So on went my favorite jeans, a basic cream-colored top, sandals (which were later switched out for the aforementioned biker boots because I wasn’t sure what the status of the floor would be….) and eyeliner.  I added teal eye shadow, bronzer, silver hoops, a stick straight, blonde ponytail and some lip gloss and I was ready to rock.  My favorite cream colored clutch finished the outfit.  I looked like I was ready to possibly kick butt and take names, but also probably blend in to the crowd.  

In the end I did not have to kick any butts, I did pretty much blend in, and I learned that reserved seats in the VIP section for a mere $10 more would be a very wise investment in the future!  What a fun evening!!

Image

4 Responses to “What to wear to a Roller Derby bout….”

  1. you know who I am.... why ask? April 22, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    Ahhh, I was hoping as we scrolled down, that there would be a photo of YOU! I was waiting!!!!
    The roller derby gals are always at Art Car Parade… fun group!!!! 🙂

  2. lindseycarlsonphotography April 22, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    I need pictures of pre-sj days and I need them yesterday.

    • elizabelle01 April 22, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      I don’t know that the internet can handle that kind of ridiculousness. I do feel like somewhere in my massive box of photos I have a red hair/lipstick picture. I’ll see what I can do.

  3. lindseycarlsonphotography April 22, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    I need photos of you pre-sj days, and I need them yesterday.

Leave a Reply

