Three Things Thursday

19 Apr

Here are three things that are on my mind today…. of course this is subject to change as it is not even Noon yet, but whatever.  I’m going over to Julie’s after school and I didn’t want to put off writing until afterward.

1. I just found out that my favorite salad in all the land; the one I go to when I want to eat healthy, the one I have turned others onto… is on the list of “20 Salads that are Worse for you to eat than a Freaking Burger King Whopper with Cheese”.  Ok, I may have bungled the title a bit, but it really is about 20 salads that you should avoid.  And there it was at number 11… Coming in at 1150 calories, the Chopped BBQ Chicken salad from California Pizza Kitchen.  Of course, I do always order the half salad, but still- WHAT THE CRAP???  This (points to self) is NOT a happy face!!

Image

2. I am looking to change jobs (not careers, just going to a different school.  Preferably a high school).  What I really want, is to go back to private school.  I’m not sure if everyone is aware, but private doesn’t pay NEARLY as much as public school.  In Houston, public school actually pays really well (for school anyway…).  This would be a non-issue if my multi-millionaire lawyer/model/baseball player husband had not run off and joined the circus, but sadly I find myself the sole breadwinner of my household (modest though it may be), so making less money is not really something I am prepared for.  Now the exception to the “private pays less” rule is a few schools in the area that cater to the superbly wealthy, and therefore charge a figurative arm and possibly a literal leg for tuition, and therefore can pay their teachers more.  These are the schools to whom I want to pimp myself out.  The trick is finding a school that A. wants a teacher for high school (or middle school) history and B. isn’t sitting in that awkward place where they have already filled the position but have yet to remove it from their website.  My alternative (which is slowly becoming my only option) is to transfer to a different district.  This being said I will be selling myself like a cheap hooker at the Katy ISD job fair next Saturday.  Wish me luck!

Image

3. I was just called “Clark Grisswold”.  Just now, by a student who is ANNOYING, but sadly, also hilarious.  He was calling me Ms Clark, then just Clark, then it turned into Clark Kent and finally Clark Grisswld, complete with references to my inablity to take a decent vacation and my weird relatives who come at Christmas time.  I’m torn between being irritated that he’s interrupting my class and the super-important STAAR reviews and being kind of impressed that he knows who Clark Grisswold is.

Image

To answer your unasked question, YES, I should totally be using my time better.  But I’m not.  I have spring fever and it is a strong case.  Also, I can mult-task like you wouldn’t believe.  Also, this post has taken me almost 3 hours to write since I do actually attend to the students’ academic needs.  Happy Thursday, see you tomorrow!!

4 Responses to “Three Things Thursday”

  1. you know who I am.... why ask? April 20, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    😦 On all three things, I think… Mostly the reason for number three is that you have an annoying child interrupting your classroom….. the other two are obvious why I believe this…. I have that connection with you. I understand the AAAAAGGGGGHHHHH! in your voice…. I am so sorry…..
    I am really hoping for a Fantabulous Friday post that will fill your many blog followers with the absolute most amazing things that you plan to do this weekend so I can live vicariously through your writings…. (There is a teacher sale on Saturday at 11….everything you can cram in a brown paper sack is $5… ijs!)

    • elizabelle01 April 20, 2012 at 2:39 am #

      Okay, first of all, my time stamp thingie says you left the comment 5 hours from now…. 2:31 AM on Friday. Hmmmm. Don’t forget that 2 broke teachers are having a car wash on Saturday 🙂

  2. Kristin April 20, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    I’ll be at the Katy ISD job fair … stop by SLJH table and say hi!!! 🙂

    • elizabelle01 April 20, 2012 at 3:13 am #

      I was going to be stopping by that table anyway…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

