Top Ten Tuesday

18 Apr

Oh readers, you have no idea how excited I am about this post!!  You may notice that this is a totally different website…. yeah, but that’s a story for tomorrow since today is TOP TEN TUESDAY!!!  Seriously you can’t imagine the ridiculous level of my happiness.  I have been waiting for 6 whole days to be able to write a Top Ten Tuesday post!  Annnnnd with all that build-up here it is…….

The Top Ten Shows that my DVR Kindly Records for Me

10. The Office– I think it’s sad that Pam and Jim have been relegated to the 10 spot when a few short years ago they would have been top 5 easily!!  Of course back then Jim was one of my 5 fake boyfriends.  Now, that honor would go to Ed Helms, aka Andy Bernard, aka The Nard Dog.

9. Make it or Break it– An ABC Family show, MioBi has slowly been losing cool points this season. I LOVE that they created a show about gymnastics.  I remember when it premiered back in the summer of 2009.  It was totally innovative to have a show about gymnastics.  And the skills of the girls (and their stunt doubles) are really good. I’m not sure why I am suddenly bothered by the super-unrealistic story lines, but I am.  Sigh.

8. GCB– Okay, I know I am going to lose a lot of you here.  And I get it.  This show is not for everyone.  However, as a Texan, watching plastic, blonde women run around Dallas backstabbing each other in the name of the Lord is funny ONLY because it totally meets the stereotype and makes Houston look SOOO much better 🙂  Seriously, you can’t take it seriously.  It’s just funny.  They aren’t mocking Christianity, they’re mocking fake Christian women.  But like I said, it isn’t for everyone….

7. Glee– I think this is my “I love to hate and mock it, and I also secretly love it” show.  Usually it is kind of annoying and I think that Ryan Murphy gets WAAY up on top of that gay agenda soap box far too often, but I usually really like the music and some of the story lines don’t completely suck.

6. New Girl– Zooey Deschanel being quirky and cute.  Her 3 male roommates being boys.  Hijinks ensue.

5. Community– I might be the only person on earth who wants a Jeff/Annie relationship, but I think they have the best chemistry.  I could do without Pierce so if the rumors that Chevy Chase is going to leave are true, I sure won’t cry.  I wish I had someone to do the Trobed handshake with 🙂

4. Homeland– Currently on hiatus as Showtime is stupid and only does 13 episode seasons.  Of course this is what most cable shows do, so I should probably stop complaining.  Whatever.  Claire Danes as a CIA agent.  Some guy who’s name I forget as a possible sleeper terrorist.  Mandy Patinkin!!!  I was never sure what this show was going to do next.  I could never tell if the guy was a good guy or a bad one.  I have no idea when it is coming back, but sooner is so much better than later!!

3. Modern Family– Some of the BEST quotables on Thursday mornings come from this show Wednesday night!  Ty Burrell plays loving but clueless SO well.  The kid who plays Luke can deliver the absolute funniest lines without breaking character.  Cam is sort of a sports star.  I always laugh.  Always.  I usually have to rewind some to watch them again.  I remember when I had to rewind The Office….

2. The Big Bang Theory– Amy Farrah Fowler at her first slumber party.  Amy Farrah Fowler cuddling with Sheldon.  The roommate agreement.  The Panty Pinata Polarization.  Google any of these and you will totally get it!  The way that on paper Leonard and Penny don’t work at all, but in “reality” they totally work.  And if you watch it, you HAVE to be hoping that this new attempt will stick.  You also have to admit that watching Sheldon be someone’s boyfriend is like nothing else you’ve ever seen.  Right?

1. Mad Men– A 17 month wait was not cool, AMC, but at the same time, you are SERIOUSLY redeeming yourselves with season 5.  Fat Betty?  HA!  So deserved!  Punched in the face Pete?  It’s about time!  Affirmative Action?  Gotta love Dawn!  If you are not watching Mad Men, you are not my friend anymore.  Okay, maybe that was a little severe, but it is really fascinating.  The creators do MAJOR research to make every episode as spot on with the time period as they possibly can.  And for reals…. Jon Hamm?  Yum-my 🙂

It bears repeating.  I watch WAAAAAAY to much television.  But I really do love it.  And I really do DVR everything and watch when I can, usually on lazy Friday nights and Saturdays.  What are your favorite shows??

6 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday”

  1. Lindsey April 18, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    What? No “Walking Dead”?!?!

    • elizabelle01 April 18, 2012 at 2:22 am #

      This is why the post was “TOP 10” not “EVERYTHING I WATCH REGULARLY”…. I also left off How I Met Your Mother, 30 Rock, Parks and Rec…. and a whole slew of others. Also, your Silence of the Lambs face…. SMH, girl. You end up in the craziest situations!

  2. crazy art teacher April 18, 2012 at 2:55 am #

    Anything home improvement…. as I know I will NEVER have enough money to do what they do and even with a degree in interior design, my house will never look like theirs do……
    Dancing with the Stars…. as I know I will NEVER have a partner to dance with that looks like Maks and I will never be as skinny as I used to be…
    Glee…. I just like the whole sing/song dance-y thing…. (again, in a former life)
    Bones…. why? Because Brennan is just so darn good lookin’
    hmmmmm I think that is all I ever get to watch as my days and evenings are fully engaged in YoGabba Gabba, BeyBlades, Ninjago, or Top Gear… oh to have full control of the remote… I’ll never know!

    • elizabelle01 April 18, 2012 at 3:00 am #

      I also like Bones!! And I think you mean BOOTH is so good looking! Brennan is Bones’ actual last name. Although she is pretty cute. She has great eyes!

  3. Lori S. April 18, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    HI Cuz, we watch several of the same things. Along with Glee, New Girl, Modern Family, and GCB (just got caught up on Hulu!), I also DVR Touch (love Kiefer Sutherland), Awake (can’t decide if I’ll stay with it or not), Raising Hope, Smash, The Biggest Loser, and American Idol. Then there are the guilty pleasures that I only catch every once in a while – Toddlers and Tiaras, Dance Moms, and RuPaul’s Drag Race! Craziness!!

  4. Kristin April 20, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    We just started watching Mad Men on Netflix and we are HOOKED!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

