My Journey toward Authorhood….

17 Apr

4/13/12

If you are still reading after a cheesy title like that, you are a true friend!!  I detest refering to things in life as “journeys”.  Even on a road trip I find it a little pretentious.  The only time “Journey” is appropriate is on Glee (apaprently) or in a rockin’ flash mob (See Ohio State Student Union flashmob on youtube.  It’s awesome!)

Anyway…..The first time I tried to write a “book” was when I was in 7th grade.  I had just learned about S.E. Hinton and her book The Outsiders.  Did you know she wrote that when she was 16 years old?  I had just turned 13 and I thought that if I was dilligent I could be published by the time I was 16 also.  I had a little teal binder that I kept all my hand-written pages in.  My first book was about twins who were kidnapped.  I got bored within about 3 weeks after having written about 7 pages.  However the plot was the basis for a short story I entered into a contest the following spring.  My early attempts at writing were all along the same lines.  They were all going to center around some huge, insanely unbelievable plot point that I had no business trying to write about.  Most of them revolved around twins, a boy and a girl.  Which reminds me, one of these days I need to tell you about Jordan, my imaginary twin brother that I had when I was younger.  But that will hold for another day.

When I was 23 I started writing my autobiography.  It was really more of a collection of short essays about my life; boys that had been important to me, crazy things my roommates and I got ourselves into, a hard-hitting story about the night I got my belly button pierced.  I probably had close to 50 pages.  Then my computer died and I hadn’t saved it to a disk, so I moved on.  When I was 25 I began a YA book about twins (See, I was a little obsessed) who solve a mystery surrounding the abandoned roller rink on the outskirts of town.  It was the Bobbsey Twins meets Scooby Doo.  It was probably not as bad as my previous attempts, but I don’t think it was very good either.  

Several years later I began three different pieces all of which ended up in cyber heaven somewhere… they were all begun and left behind on the same night.  I wasn’t really getting anywhere with this whole writing thing.

Now, in a related piece of information I like to tell myself stories when I am in the car.  Don’t judge.  This is about to get good.  One of my go-to stories revolves around a parallel universe in which I, as a 16 year old who hopes to one day attend Texas A&M University, move to Houston by myself to live with my grandparents so that I would be eligible for in state tuition.  The drama revolves around trying to acclimate myself to a new city, new friends, new situations.  Anyway, I had told the story to myself so many times that back in July 2010 it occurred to me that I should write it out.  So on July 23, 2010 I walked into a Starbucks, and 2 hours later walked out with the first 6 pages.  By the end of the next day I was on page 15.  Within a week I had 25 pages.  Now, almost 21 months later I am on page 248 and am within 150 pages of being done with what it going to be the first book or  trilogy.  I also have a brief outline of what the other 2 books will look like.   I have to tell you, I’m pretty proud of this book.  I’ve only had a few people read it, and the feedback I have gotten has been pretty helpful.  My goal is to be done by the end of July.  I mean, with the first book.  I know how it ends, I just have to get there!!  

So there you have it.  We’ll see what happens.  I am fully aware that writing the story is only the beginning of the journ… I mean, the process.  Publication is a LONG way off.  But I dream of the day when you, dear reader will be able to purchase my book at Barnes and Noble.  Or more likely on Amazon to put on your Kindle.  I promise to remember the little people 🙂

One Response to “My Journey toward Authorhood….”

  1. Rachael May 23, 2012 at 5:27 am #

    It is seriously creepy how similar we are. I had the EXACT SAME IDEA for a book! (Side note: When I was a kid and had just read Harry Potter for the first time, I wrote myself into the story, as Harry’s twin sister. It was terrible. It will never be revealed to the public.) But really, I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I love it. If I thought I had any real talent I’d totes pursue it. And now I have the itch to write now…

Leave a Reply

